Lawrenceburg Public Library District
Online Book Reviews
   Thumbs Up!   
Upcoming Events
Title
Date
Saturday, August 02, 2014
Time
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Description
Warning: disgusting science experiments! Beware the stench! All things smelly, moldy, and gross will be tested.
Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Title
Date
Saturday, August 02, 2014
Time
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Description
Warning: disgusting science experiments! Beware the stench! All things smelly, moldy, and gross will be tested.
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 05, 2014
Time
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Description
Bring a lunch and listen in as Dan Toon reads from Crime Through Time II by Bill Doyle. Bestselling mystery authors Miriam Grace Monfredo and Sharan Newman present Crime Through Time II--featuring original historical mysteries by Robert Barnard, Jan Burke, Michael Coney, Dianne Day, Carole Nelson Douglas, Elizabeth Foxwell, Edward D. Hoch, Nancy Kress, Gillian Linscott, Edward Marston, Miriam Grace Monfredo, Maam Nyers, Sharon Newman, Anne Perry, John Maddox Roberts, Laura Joh Rowland, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith, and William Wu. Light refreshments served.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 05, 2014
Time
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Description
Learn about the history of the Oxbow Lake in Lawrenceburg. Oxbow Inc. President Jon Seymour will give a presentation on the lake and his organization’s efforts to preserve it.

Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Title
Date
Saturday, August 09, 2014
Time
2:00 PM - 3:15 PM
Description
Come hang out for our monthly Lego Mania Club! Bring your Legos and take on our themed challenges to take home the glory!
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Monday, August 11, 2014
Time
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Description
Enjoy playing Wii with your friends? Have a favorite board game? Come hang out with us, we'll have games, snacks and fun!
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Description
Bring a lunch and listen in as Dan Toon reads from Crime Through Time II by Bill Doyle. Bestselling mystery authors Miriam Grace Monfredo and Sharan Newman present Crime Through Time II--featuring original historical mysteries by Robert Barnard, Jan Burke, Michael Coney, Dianne Day, Carole Nelson Douglas, Elizabeth Foxwell, Edward D. Hoch, Nancy Kress, Gillian Linscott, Edward Marston, Miriam Grace Monfredo, Maam Nyers, Sharon Newman, Anne Perry, John Maddox Roberts, Laura Joh Rowland, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith, and William Wu. Light refreshments served.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time
6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Description
Monthly Meetings (March - October) discuss topics of local and regional history. Join us in the Depot Meeting Room at 6 p.m.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Description
Each month we build either a theme build or a brick challenge build. We keep a journal of building instructions for extra projects we get from Lego and we pull library materials for inspiration. Each club member has a folder journal and at the end of each meeting we take a photo of their build and it goes on the LPLD kids website.
Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Title
Date
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Time
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Description
Join Annie, of Annie's Classics Cafe for a series of cooking classes.
Date Night: The French Bistro. Enjoy an evening with a great menu for any occasion! We will be making a full course dinner for that special person in your life.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Time
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Description
This is a new bookclub that will meet quarterly; we will read and discuss teen or children's books that appeal to adults also. Our first book will be "The Giver" by Lois Lowry. Read the book before the movie is released!
Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Title
Date
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Time
6:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Description
Curious about sharks? Celebrate Shark Week at the library and discover all the different species of sharks, including facts and preservation. Amy Rose, Library Volunteer, is an avid shark activist and lifelong member of the Shark Research Institute. Attendees will have an interactive experience that includes shark teeth, printed materials, displays, and activities. All materials are provided by the Shark Research Institute. Shark Week is an annual celebration the Discovery Channel puts on to highlight one of nature's most extreme predators.
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Enter your user name and password and click on the Login button.

Thumbs Up! Online Book Reviews


Read a good book lately? Tell us about it.


Teens may submit reviews through the Teen Book Reviews as well!


See what fellow customers are reading and recommending.
Submit your own reviews to share with others.


Return to the LPLD Home Page.


Reviews
Reserve a copy!
Title
Hank Zipzer My Dog's A Scardy Cat
Author
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Review
This book is soooooo awesome I made up a new word Swasome it is sweet and awesome put together. In this book you will go on an adventurous Halloween tale. Hank is trying to get this bully back for teasing him all his life. Will he scare him out of his underwear?  Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780448438788
Rating
5
Reviewer's Name
Sarah
Age Level
Elementary
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
My Sisters Keeper
Author
Jodi Picoult
Review
This book, well is really captivating. I loved the story line. I would read it for hours just trying to see what would happen next. I think this book is great for teenagers, or siblings. It just shows you how far a family will go for one another. Or how not so far they will.  Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9781439163856
Rating
5
Reviewer's Name
Shelby Leveritt
Age Level
Teen
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
Undercover
Author
Beth Kephart
Review
A good book about a girl finding herself, in the most unexpected people  Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780061238932
Rating
4
Age Level
Teen
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove
Author
Susan Gilmore Gregg
Review
It's difficult growing up in a household as a teen who is more mature than her parents. In spite of an eccentric alcoholic mother and a mostly absent father, Bezeelia finds her way into womanhood in 1960's Nashville, Tennessee.   Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780307395030
Rating
4
Age Level
Adult
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eigth Grade Bites
Author
Heather Brewer
Review
This book is really awesome. It is about a half human half vampire kid trying to live a normal life. His parents were killed in a house fire. Vlad lives with his Mother's close friend Nelly, but both are in for a big surprise.  Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780525478119
Rating
5
Reviewer's Name
Shelby
Age Level
Teen
Similar Authors
Similar Books