Lawrenceburg Public Library District
Online Book Reviews
   Thumbs Up!       Fizz Boom Read Preschool       Fizz Boom Read School Age       Spark a Reaction   
Upcoming Events
Title
Date
Saturday, August 02, 2014
Time
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Description
Warning: disgusting science experiments! Beware the stench! All things smelly, moldy, and gross will be tested.
Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Title
Date
Saturday, August 02, 2014
Time
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Description
Warning: disgusting science experiments! Beware the stench! All things smelly, moldy, and gross will be tested.
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 05, 2014
Time
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Description
Bring a lunch and listen in as Dan Toon reads from Crime Through Time II by Bill Doyle. Bestselling mystery authors Miriam Grace Monfredo and Sharan Newman present Crime Through Time II--featuring original historical mysteries by Robert Barnard, Jan Burke, Michael Coney, Dianne Day, Carole Nelson Douglas, Elizabeth Foxwell, Edward D. Hoch, Nancy Kress, Gillian Linscott, Edward Marston, Miriam Grace Monfredo, Maam Nyers, Sharon Newman, Anne Perry, John Maddox Roberts, Laura Joh Rowland, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith, and William Wu. Light refreshments served.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 05, 2014
Time
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Description
Learn about the history of the Oxbow Lake in Lawrenceburg. Oxbow Inc. President Jon Seymour will give a presentation on the lake and his organization’s efforts to preserve it.

Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Title
Date
Saturday, August 09, 2014
Time
2:00 PM - 3:15 PM
Description
Come hang out for our monthly Lego Mania Club! Bring your Legos and take on our themed challenges to take home the glory!
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Monday, August 11, 2014
Time
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Description
Enjoy playing Wii with your friends? Have a favorite board game? Come hang out with us, we'll have games, snacks and fun!
Location
Ewbank Meeting Room 1 and 2 with Kitchen
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Description
Bring a lunch and listen in as Dan Toon reads from Crime Through Time II by Bill Doyle. Bestselling mystery authors Miriam Grace Monfredo and Sharan Newman present Crime Through Time II--featuring original historical mysteries by Robert Barnard, Jan Burke, Michael Coney, Dianne Day, Carole Nelson Douglas, Elizabeth Foxwell, Edward D. Hoch, Nancy Kress, Gillian Linscott, Edward Marston, Miriam Grace Monfredo, Maam Nyers, Sharon Newman, Anne Perry, John Maddox Roberts, Laura Joh Rowland, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith, and William Wu. Light refreshments served.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time
6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Description
Monthly Meetings (March - October) discuss topics of local and regional history. Join us in the Depot Meeting Room at 6 p.m.
Location
Depot Meeting Room
Library
Lawrenceburg Public Library

Title
Date
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Time
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Description
Each month we build either a theme build or a brick challenge build. We keep a journal of building instructions for extra projects we get from Lego and we pull library materials for inspiration. Each club member has a folder journal and at the end of each meeting we take a photo of their build and it goes on the LPLD kids website.
Location
Dunevant Meeting Room 1 and 2 (Full Room)
Library
North Dearborn Branch

Enter your user name and password and click on the Login button.

Thumbs Up! Online Book Reviews


Read a good book lately? Tell us about it.


Teens may submit reviews through the Teen Book Reviews as well!


See what fellow customers are reading and recommending.
Submit your own reviews to share with others.


Return to the LPLD Home Page.


Reviews
Reserve a copy!
Title
The Grim Grotto
Author
Lemony Snicket
Review
A good book part of the seris of Unfortunate Events. It has you wanting to read more.   Reserve a copy!
ISBN
0064410145
Rating
4
Age Level
Teen
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove
Author
Susan Gilmore Gregg
Review
It's difficult growing up in a household as a teen who is more mature than her parents. In spite of an eccentric alcoholic mother and a mostly absent father, Bezeelia finds her way into womanhood in 1960's Nashville, Tennessee.   Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780307395030
Rating
4
Age Level
Adult
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
The Shunning and The Confession
Author
Beverly Lewis
Review
This is a 3 part series. So far I have read the first 2 and cannot wait to check out part 3, which is called The Reckoning! These books are awesome. You won't be able to put them down!  Reserve a copy!
ISBN
1556618670
Rating
5
Age Level
Adult
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
The Hunger Games
Author
Suzanne Collins
Review
"Every year in the ruins of North America, 24 teens are forced to enter the Hunger Games. Only one winner survives. Every moment is televised." Reality TV - how far is too far? Governments have been using hunger and food as a power tool for centuries and that will probably never change. This is a thought provoking look at a future North America where the government uses food and the threat of killing our children in order to keep peace. A word of warning, this is not a book for the light-hearted as there is graphic teen on teen violence.   Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780439023498
Rating
5
Reviewer's Name
Sheila
Age Level
Teen
Similar Authors
Similar Books

Reserve a copy!
Title
The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies and Other Warped and Creepy Tales
Author
David Lubar
Review
I picked up this book to encourage my 10 year old son to read for the summer reading log. He is very choosy over the books he will read and rather reluctant to read over playing on the computer or playstation. I gave him this book to read and once he started it he had difficulty putting the book down until he had finished the book in its entirety. Now my other kids are reading it and enjoying it also.  Reserve a copy!
ISBN
9780765320995
Rating
4
Reviewer's Name
Lori
Age Level
Elementary
Similar Authors
Similar Books